CHIHUAHUA RACES PART 2

On May 5th I did a post about the Petco Unleashed Chihuahua Races that were held last Saturday in San Bruno, California. I had also posted a photo of Chloe, the winner of the Chihuahua races…or so I thought. The Chihuahua Race was a hot topic, and I received a lot of visitors on my post. One of the visitors was the owner of Chloe, the little Chi Pug mix who won that race. Chloe’s mom told me that the picture I posted was not of Chloe, and if I wanted a picture, she would be glad to email one to me. Well folks, I am here to say that I now have bonafide pictures of Chloe, the first place winner and the speediest Chihuahua of the PETCO Unleashed Chihuahua Races 2008! I was also privileged to get a little more information about Chloe herself.

Katrina and Mel Soledad adopted Chloe and her brother in May 2006 from the Tri-City Animal Shelter in Fremont California. They had always wanted a dog that looked like a Labrador retriever puppy but wouldn’t get as big as a retriever. Then they saw Chloe in the pound and knew that Chloe was the dog of their dreams. When they adopted Chloe, they were warned that Chloe was a jumper, a licker and an “escape artist”.

Katrina and Mel take Chloe on hiking trails at Bayfront Park that contains large hiking trails, and lots of squirrels, ducks and rabbits that run around. Chloe loves to check out all the animals and loves to run. She can sprint 150 to 200 feet in a flash.

This was Chloe’s second time participating in the PETCO Unleashed Chihuahua Races. The first time Chloe participated, Katrina saw the race for the World’s Fastest Chihuahua on the Oprah Show two days before the competition that was to take place in San Bruno. They entered Chloe and she came in second! Since this was Chloe’s first race, they didn’t know the tricks other dog owners were using. The winning dog’s owners were dangling hot dogs and toys at the finish line.

This year they entered Chloe and she came in first place clocking in at 1.6 seconds! Congratulations Chloe on your win. We hope you do well at the Finals at PETCO Park in San Diego on August 31st!

Katrina will be reading this post, so I would like all of my bloggy friends to congratulate Chloe and wish her well on the upcoming PETCO Unleashed Chihuahua Races in August!

CHLOE IS COMING IN FIRST LEAVING A TRAIL OF DUST BEHIND HER!

MEL AND KATRINA JUMPING FOR JOY!

CHLOE IS BEING AWARDED FIRST PLACE

KATRINA, CHLOE AND THE FIRST PLACE RIBBON

CHLOE WITH THE “REAL PRIZE”….ICE CREAM THE TREAT OF CHAMPIONS!

Isn’t Chloe a cutie pie? She looks like she is full of energy, and she is ice cream powered!

Explore posts in the same categories: dogs, family, Uncategorized

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

11 Comments on “CHIHUAHUA RACES PART 2”

  1. Rusty Says:

    Love the way you put the story together and the captions for the pictures. Especially the “real” prize! Ice cream!

    I hope you have a great weekend, a wonderful Mother’s Day!

  2. Gina Says:

    She’s a cutey! Happy Mother’s Day Kathryn!!!

    Go visit Mercedes…she has some bad news.

  3. Sofia Says:

    Cute photos! What a cutie champ! ๐Ÿ™‚ Oh, I think you meant PETCO Unleashed Chihuahua Races 2008. Thanks for the post. HAPPY MOTHER’S DAY!

  4. Juanitto Says:

    Hola! I just found this site by chance while doing a search on Chloe, which I saw on the Redwood City Daily. Great blog and nice pics! I too tried out my Chi/Terrier mix at the race with not much luck, but there’s always next year! I would suggest everyone to go to the Petco Race next year just for the fun of meeting so many types of little dogs not just Chis and of course, for the free samples and other stuff!

    Hola Juanito,

    I plan on taking my Chis to the Petco Unleashed Chihuahua Races next year in Los Angeles. I will enter Tinky. Of course, I will “train” her with hot dogs!

    Kathryn


  5. That is great! Congratulations to the Race Champion!!

    Happy Mother’s Day to you!!

  6. Trina (Chloe's Mommy) Says:

    Hello Kathryn! What a wonderful blog entry. Thank you everyone for the well-wishes. Chloe’ says she’ll do her best. Good Luck in your training with Tinky – wishing you both the best. Have a great week! Thanks for featuring our lil’ champ! ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. henri hopper Says:

    yes! she is totally adorable. ๐Ÿ™‚ congratulations chloe!

  8. Drunkbunny Says:

    Oh god. Chloe is SO CUTE!

  9. email petco Says:

    […] the winner of the Chihuahua races??or so I thought. The Chihuahua Race was a hot topic, and I rhttps://4urpets.wordpress.com/2008/05/09/chihuahua-races-part-2/Text Size Beaches LeaderBeaches Writers Night is held from 7-9 p.m. the first Monday of each month […]

  10. Grace Says:

    Dear Chloe,

    You are invited over to my place in Sunny anytime you want to come. I’ll share my toys and let my mom and dad pat your tummy. We can chase hummingbirds and green balls. I like to run fast too.

    Your new friend,
    Master Max
    (and my mom Grace)

  11. Juanitto Says:

    Holรก Kathryn!

    Good luck to you and your Chis and thanks for the training tip. I will be using bacon for my dog, but of course, it will be turkey bacon to keep him healthy. =)


Leave a Reply

