SIMPLE CHUNKY PEANUT DOG TREATS

Cara of Deep Fried Apple Pies gave me this wonderful recipe for dog treats. She got it during the pet food scare and her dogs really love them.  She has two Eskies named Sophie and Sully.  If you go by her blog, mention that I sent you.

Here are the instructions:

INGREDIENTS

2 cups whole wheat flour ~ 1 tablespoon baking powder ~ 1 cup natural peanut butter~ 1 cup non fat milk

INSTRUCTIONS (Preheat over to 375 degrees)

In large bowl, combine flour and baking powder. Use another bowl and combine the peanut butter and milk.

Add the milk and peanut butter mixture to the dry ingredients and mix well.

On floured surface, turn out and knead. Roll out to 1/4″ thick. Cut out using cookie cutters.

Place on baking sheets and bake for about 20 minutes or until lightly browned. Place on racks to cool then store in airtight containers.

Since my dogs are small, I used a little 2 ounce measuring cup (It looks like a shot glass) instead of a cookie cutter. I made the mistake of giving them a whole “cookie” and I thought they were going to choke. They “snarfed” it up so fast. My dogs looooove them.

Explore posts in the same categories: dogs, family, Uncategorized

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

16 Comments on “SIMPLE CHUNKY PEANUT DOG TREATS”

  1. lizlangley Says:

    sounds yummy! we will have to try these!

  2. Rusty Says:

    YUM! I want mom to make some of those for me! Thanks for sharing with us.

  3. dogsrulecatsdrool Says:

    You passed the blogger of the world award to my blog, but I’m finding myself very technically challenged and get the award on to my site. So I don’t know what to do now.

  4. dogsrulecatsdrool Says:

    OMG! time for celebration, it finally worked, the award is on my site. There was one letter missing. Stop by and take a look.

  5. Anna Surface Says:

    Sounds yummy for the dogs and easy to make. I’ll have to try these as my dogs love peanut butter. Thanks for passing the recipe along. 🙂

  6. Erin Craig Says:

    I will have to try these! They sound really good. I have been getting all natural treats for Chloe but I love the idea of making them myself. Thanks for the recipe!

  7. Gina Says:

    Dear Friends Tinky, Jonesy and Sissy,
    You have a great Mom. My Mom is too lazy to do all that baking. And sister and I love peanut butter too.
    Your buddy, Tuffy

    Hey Tuffy, I hear your dad is a good cook. I guarantee you will love these, and they are really good for you.

    Jonesy

  8. Lissa Says:

    Sounds yummy yummy! Thanks!

  9. thegirl Says:

    DOG TREATS???? They sound like people treats! 8)

  10. deepfriedapplepies Says:

    Ahhh.. Sophie and Sully are glad your “Peeps” love them.. because these are the Bestest Treats! Mom (me) needs to make some for them this weekend~!!

    Cara,

    I am not kidding you when I tell you that they snarf them up. I have to cut them in little pieces. They wolf them down so fast that I am afraid they will choke. Sissy snarfs them down and she has them caught in her throat. Every time I ask them if they want a cookie, Jonesy goes wild.

    Kathryn

  11. Abigal Says:

    is milk okay for the dog? I am about to be new doggie owner!

    I give my dogs milk, but very little of it. If you give mine too much, they get the runs. 🙂 Milk is Jonesy’s favorite of anything I give him.

    Thanks for stopping by my blog. Hope to see you again!

    Kathryn

  12. Toni Says:

    They sound really good – Buddy loves peanut butter so I’ll have to give the recipe a try. Funny blog, BTW. Thanks for stopping at mine. 😀

    Toni


  13. […]  I LOVE PEANUT BUTTER TREATS […]


  14. […] Sissy. I just want to tell you that mom’s been lazy lately, and we are out of  our favorite peanut dog treats that she makes us. We have been begging her for treats so she had to go into the cupboard to see […]


  15. […] Le Chef knows best Posted by elusivek under Leisure, Life   When I first read about the Peanut Butter Dog Treats over that 4urpets, I raved about it at home. I told my Dad, the professional Chef of the house. We […]


  16. […] we couldn’t get all the ingredients as listed in the instructions. It would seem whole wheat flour is virtually non-existent in Macau, or I went to the wrong […]


Leave a Reply

