WHAT’S THIS GREEN GOO?

honest-kitchen-dog-food.jpg

Last week I broke down and bought my pups dehydrated dog food. I bought the Verve beef because Sissy is watching her figure and it had less fat than the others. It comes in a 10 pound bag and is pretty pricy, but once you add the water and re-hydrate it, it makes about 43 pounds of food. This comes out to less than what I pay for my dogs premium food. 

Anyway, I mixed up a batch for little ones the next morning. Jonesy and Sissy snarfed it up. Yum Yum. Tinky wouldn’t eat it for two days. Even now, she doesn’t eat it all, so the jury is still out on that one.

It’s been a week now, and Jonesy is the only one that will gobble it down. Sissy has now turned her nose up to it. Sissy…the one that licks the paint off the bowl got picky! Go figure! Now I have to put cooked chicken in their bowl before Tinky and Sissy will eat.

Since this stuff contains Alfalfa (yes, I said Alfalfa) my house smells like a barn, the dogs smell like cows, and when they poop,  the methane count goes up and the flies come a buzzin’.  Try picking that stuff up when you walk your dogs. It’s not pretty.

bowl-of-green-stuff.jpg

The Green Color Is The Alfalfa 

The food contains organic rye, organic barley, dehydrated beef, organic flaxseed, organic oats, carrots, alfalfa, potatoes, eggs, red and green bell peppers, spinach, apples, cranberries, chicory, parsley, peppermint,  and rosemary.

I think I’ll look into cooking my own dog food. Does anyone out there have a good recipe that is nutritious for your dog?

Explore posts in the same categories: dog humor, dogs, family, humor, Uncategorized

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

21 Comments on “WHAT’S THIS GREEN GOO?”

  1. goodbear Says:

    well, 2 out of 3 chis liked it!
    i used to add chicken to it for cody bear. i would cook one chicken breast and cut it into tiny morsels and add 6 or 7 morsels (and he is a bit bigger than your dogs….all three of them….put together)

    i’ve cooked for him, as well, as do some of my friends. but rice doesn’t sit well with him like it does with other dogs. when cooking for cody bear i use real beef or real chicken. i don’t have to worry about his weight though ….because he’s crazy and runs like a loony! there are some interesting recipes on line, and also in books, “food pets die for” is one, but there are many more.

    keep us posted!

    (i think that makes 3 green stuff blog entries, you, us and dennis the viszla dog!

    4urpets says: I’m putting little chunks of cooked chicken, or fresh carrots, or frozen green beans in their goo. They are all eating it up. Slurp….

  2. Rusty Says:

    I don’t know about green stuff. I think mom is looking that up too.

  3. behr rake Says:

    My mom feeds me “Force” (also by Honest Kitchen). My “breeder” is also a veterinarian, and insists on this being part of my food regime. I guess it must be good for me. I get this mixed with my kibble, tho.
    wags,
    Behr 🙂
    http://behrrake.wordpress.com/

    4urpets says: I now put little pieces of fresh carrots and sometimes frozen green beans in their food. They’re snarfing it up again. So maybe this is going to work.


  4. I haven’t tried dehydrated food but I think that is a great idea for our Shadow when we travel. He has severe food allergies and we have to be very careful what he eats and it is difficult to travel with his frozen food.
    We have a dehydrator that we bought to make his “treats” – we dehydrate turkey thigh meat.
    Now off to find out where I can get some dehydrated food for our trip in March…

    4urpets says: You can find it on the internet. The company is The Honest Kitchen. You can buy it online, or you can go to their store locater to see if they have a store near you.

  5. Gina Says:

    Yikes. Thanks for the heads up. I don’t want my Mom to give me any of that stuff.
    Tuffy


  6. Hmm, we like our pedigree little biscuits! We hope our mummy doesnt give us green gloop!

    Love Weeny and Daisy xx xx

  7. deepfriedapplepies Says:

    poor Tinky.. she can come to my house.. I’ll give her one of my homemade Peanut Butter doggie treats or a mini carrot (those are the puppy treats offered around here)
    I think Sophie would roll her eyes at me if I tried that food on her. She doesn’t like the Lamb and Rice that she eats now.. she sure wouldn’t want to become a vegan! Good luck on your quest to make them healthier!!

    My pups loooove peanut butter. You must give me the recipe for your homemade peanut butter doggie treats.

    Kathryn

  8. TheAgedCat Says:

    The Aged Cat sends his sympathies to Tinky and the gang. But he doesn’t understand your comment about the poo. (I do!!)

    Did you find any recipes on the web? I’ve seen them for cats, so I’d bet you can google “recipes dogs” and find some.

    Probably anything that’s safe for them to eat that they like, you could grind it all up or make a hash out of it. Or soup.

    The other day I made a cabbage, ground beef, and potato casserole, that was seasoned with butter, salt and caraway. (No onions, no garlic) The Aged pestered the heck out of me so I gave him 2-3 tablespoons of it and he scarfed it up.

  9. Bogart Says:

    I don’t eat green food. None. Not celery. Not green peppers. Not alfalfa. I picked up a chunk of jalepeno once that had fallen on the floor while my handler was making chili. Not a pleasant experience, so I’ve decided against “going green” ever since that day. Anyway, good luck with the food! Oh, and THANK YOU for checking out my wag the dog blog, too! I have another blog at http://www.stay-at-home-dog.blogspot.com that’s more family-friendly. Good luck!

  10. dogsrulecatsdrool Says:

    thanks for the message at the animals site. How do you get so many people to comment at your site? Yes, I agree, Sassy has been quiet for too long. The animals miss me and I miss them. I will post more.

  11. dogsrulecatsdrool Says:

    Sassy has a new post on the blog called Go Ahead Make My Day!

    I accept the award for blogger of the year, just need to put it on my site.

  12. sansoucy Says:

    Wow, what an interesting concept. I like how it’s enviro friendly, and in smaller packaging. Hmm, something to consider looking for. My girl is so piggy, she will eat ANYTHING so this might not be a bad idea. . . another sign that Jonsey and her should be married, hehe. I have TONS of awesome recipes for food and treats that I will have to post in the next few days for you. 🙂

    Martine,

    That would be great. I would especially love to have a biscuit recipe. I like to chop them up and put them in their Kongs. It keeps them occupied and happy for awhile.

    Kathryn

  13. infinitygoods Says:

    Cooking for your dogs is the way to go — especially after those pet food recalls last year that killed so many pets nationwide including our wonderful Golden Retriever “Rock”. I won’t trust those pet foods anymore. Look there’s still pet food recalls and children’s toy recalls (a whole list of toy recalls came out on 12/26 right after they sold them for Christmas.) Our vet recommends rice, veggies and meat. Basically if it’s HEALTHY for a human, it’s healthy for a dog. Just don’t feed them junk food and you’ll all be happy. And don’t forget, NO CHOCOLATES and NO CHICKEN/TURKEY BONES! They’re lethal for dogs and cats, especially the small ones.

    They are doing good now. Thanks for all the tips.


  14. good to know about Verve, thanks. Cici has been trying out fresh veggies and mostly playing with them. have been feeding her dry food mixed with some cooked chicken from Trader Joe’s (comes frozen)… that’s as far as I have gotten with making her homemade dog food. 🙂

    she also gets and loves yogurt (brown cow). I have been collecting pet food recipes from websites such as this:

    http://www.pet-grub.com/

  15. lizlangley Says:

    I use this recipe to make henri hopper’s food:

    a href=”http://tedeboy.tripod.com/drmichaelwfox/id19.html”>http://tedeboy.tripod.com/drmichaelwfox/id19.html

    my vet approves of it, henri loves it and is in great health with a beautiful thick and shiny coat!

    Sometimes I mix in a little wellness brand food too.

    Thanks, I will try it. I’ll let you know how it goes.

    Kathryn

  16. lizlangley Says:

    whoops i don’t know what happened to that link. here it is again:

    http://tedeboy.tripod.com/drmichaelwfox/id19.html

  17. thegirl Says:

    Hi!
    Thanks for the note on my page! I am a vet-tech and we always hear that the most important thing is to have meat /protein as the biggest ingredient (the first ingredient always) in canine meals!

    Knuckles eats IAMS skin and coat FP response. I think its prescription.

    http://www.knucklesthechihuahua.wordpress.com

  18. Nike Says:

    Verve is not my pups favorite honest kitchen diet, but they love the others. Embark is by far their preferred choices. I love Honest Kitchen. My dogs do awesome on it, and I have not had any health problems like I’ve had in the past. It’s convenient for travel, and stores easy. All you have to do is add warm water and feed. I do add some raw meat and bones every once in awhile, just for some variety.

    I chose Verve because it had less fat than the others. 6 1/2 percent verses 16%. I have heard Embark is pretty good. I think I’ll try that.

    They seem to be eating a little better. I put cut up raw veggies in it.

    Kathryn

  19. ChiMama Says:

    My Vet recommends a mixture of 1/3 veggies, 1/3 carbs (pasta, potatoes, rice, etc) and 1/3 protein (chicken, meat, fish, tofu… whatever your pleasure). I buy boneless skinless chicken breasts and boil them forever. Then I use that liquid to make the rice and boil the veggies. Oh, I started adding chicken livers as a way of spicing things up. My little chis haven’t turned their noses up yet and it has been more than a year. I’m sure you already figured this out. I do switch around and use lamb for holidays, or hamberger. I stay away from fish bc one of my chis hates seafood. (LOL!)


  20. i always look for those calcium fortified dog foods because they make my dog healther `*,


  21. Hahahaha we give our two chihuahuas wet food all the time. Very pricy isn’t it ? They absolutly love it though.


Leave a Reply

