JONESY GOT A SHINER!

jonesy-shiner-cropped.jpg
Jonesy’s First Shiner!

8:00 A.M.

All was well after I gave the dogs their breakfast. I decided to give them all a treat and I prepared three Kongs with cut up “cookies” and topped them all off with a little liver paste. Yum yum. I then proceed to sit the dogs on the couch with their Kongs. “Great”, I thought, “This will keep them happy and busy for awhile.”

Since I don’t work on Wednesdays (because of cutbacks), I proceeded to get on the computer and check out my blog. All of a sudden, I heard this awful gnarling and yipping. “Oh no”, I thought, “Tinky and Jonesy are at it again!”  I immediately  ran into the living room to see what’s going on.  “What the hey”, I yelled.  After I stopped the altercation, I inspected Jonesy and Tinky to see if they were alright. After a thorough  inspection, I noticed that Jonesy had the biggest “shiner” you ever saw. Who won that one? 

I’m just guessing, but I think someone might have “looked” at someone’s Kong just a little too long. Sissy wasn’t stupid, she was nowhere near those two. She took off with her Kong so she could be alone to savor it all by herself with no intrusions.

Now I have to call my vet to see if she has time to see Jonesy. Poor little guy. I pray that I don’t have to rename him “Popeye”. Jeesh, I hope neither one of them cries domestic abuse and they don’t want a divorce over this.

Stay tuned……..

4:07 P.M. Just got back from the vets. They gave Jonesy a fluorescain stain to see if his eyeball was injured. It’s kinda neat. They put a drop of this “stuff’ in his eye which makes the eye turn green (kinda like the photo above). Then they rinse the eye with water and put a fluorescent light on it to see if the eye is injured. Sure enough, there was a little tear on his eyeball. The vet gave me a prescription of tobramycin opthalmic solution and told me to put 1 drop in Jonesy’s eye four times a day for a week. Whew….I am glad that’s all it was. So, it looks like I wont be renaming him Popeye after all!

Gotta start looking for a job for Tinky. She is getting a bill for this one.

Explore posts in the same categories: animals, chihuahuas, dog humor, dogs, family, humor, pets, Uncategorized

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

19 Comments on “JONESY GOT A SHINER!”

  1. Rusty Says:

    Rusty’s mom: Poor baby. Give him a little pat for me. I guess he is going to be layed up for awhile and not out fighting the squirrel menace. Hope his eye mends quickly! Rusty had to have a fluorescain stain once, after a visit to the groomers. Something irritated his eye and he scratched it. The vet gave me an ointment and instructions. Within a week it was just fine.

  2. Erin Craig Says:

    Poor Jonesy! Chloe and I are so glad he will be okay! Chloe got a smack from the cat this week and tore her nose open. I wonder why there is so much family fighting this week? Can’t we all just love each other!

  3. sansoucy Says:

    Awww poor little Jonesy! That is so funny though, the things dogs get scrappy about 🙂 I hope the little guy heals fast! 🙂

  4. Gina Says:

    Poor Jonesy! I hope he heals fast. It sounds familiar though. Mandy used to scrap with our poodle Chloe all the time even though Chloe would do the alpha roll on her. Love on Jonesy a little extra for me.

    4urpets says: Gina, Jonesy has been the sweetest little lover today since he got hurt. He was a “little man” at the vets. I love that pup. Tinky is in the dog house right now. I think I am going to have to take her to a trainer to get this agression out of her.

  5. Gina Says:

    I’ve just got to say Jonesy is so cute. Around his little mouth is adorable.

  6. Checkers Says:

    Wow, tell Jonesy I am sorry about his altercation! Glad he’s ok. If he wants to plan some payback, I can give him some suggestions that will set Tinky right without another trip to the vet.

    4urpets says: If you have any ideas, let me know. It’s getting to be a big deal around here. I think I am going to have to get Tinky to a trainer for her agression against Jonesy.

  7. cuzoogle Says:

    I am sorry for not getting here. I don’t have alot of time to surf these days.


  8. Poor Jonesy! We hope he gets better soon and that his eye isnt hurting too much :S

    Lots of puggy licks and kisses

    Weeny and Daisy xx xx

    4urpets says: He’s looking a lot better today. He is such a little lamb. He is a good boy for me when I put the drops in his eyes.

  9. Rusty Says:

    Came by to see about Jonesy. Glad to see the good report! Bless his heart!

  10. TheAgedCat Says:

    Owie! You know what helps a black eye, Jonesy? A big juicy raw steak. I hope yer mom got ya one.


  11. […] got into an altercation the other day, and little Tinky won and Jonesy wound up with a “shiner“. Tinky now has to go to work to pay me back for Jonesy’s vet […]

  12. malinthemiddle Says:

    Poor abused dog husband. I’m glad he’s going to be ok. You should make him a little sign that says, “If you think I look bad, you oughta see the other guy!”

  13. Anna Surface Says:

    Poor Jonesy! He’ll get better. I had this happen with one of our cats a long time ago. His eye healed just fine. And this happened to our Sugar dog. A cat scratched her in the eye. Her eye healed too. It is scary, though, when it happens. Bless Jonesy’s heart.

  14. goodbear Says:

    cody bear wants jonesy to feel better!

    4urpets says: He is feeling much better now.

  15. Lissa Says:

    Awwww poor Jonsey! Mister Bits knows how he feels, he had to have stitches, twice!!


  16. […] February 16, 2008 Every once in awhile I like to browse through YouTube. If I find something that I think is really funny, I like to share it.  This is a video of a cat giving a dog a massage. It is so funny, I couldn’t stop laughing. I hope it brings a smile to your face. Tinky wants me to buy one of those cats. She promises she won’t give it a “shiner“. […]


  17. […] out for Ninja Jonesy, the squirrel fills a Kong with cut cookies and pushes it over the fence. Tinky goes for the Kong but starts snarling when Jonesy comes to check out the situation. The squirrel […]


  18. […] is just that pet. The last time I was at the vet’s was when Tinky gave Jonesy a “shiner”. This time it is Tinky who had the privilege of visiting the vet’s office. Nothing serious, […]

  19. Jillian Says:

    My little guy (all of 30 lbs) just got a shiner this week. He was a stray, and we’ve had him for a little over two months, so he has a few issues. The other day, he was getting all worked up about a dog being walked past the house, and he turned on his 90 lb doggie sister. We’ll I wasn’t able to break it up before she gave him a shiner! (He slipped out of his collar and I had to pick him up to keep him from attacking the big girl!) It looks like she bonked him on the head with a tooth, and it puffed up the area around his eye. Little dogs are scrappers – they’re tougher than the big ones!


Leave a Reply

