CHRISTMAS DOG

bulldog-guardiing-tree.jpg

“GUARDING THE TREE”

Since Rusty posted a Christmas Poem, I thought I would post one too. This is a poem written by Shel Silverstein, who also wrote a childrens classic called “The Giving Tree”, and believe it or not, he used to draw for Playboy Magazine from 1956 to around the 70’s. The poem is called Christmas Dog.

Tonight’s my first night

 as a watchdog,

And here it is Christmas

Eve.

The children are

sleeping all cozy

upstairs,

while I’m guardin’ the

stockin’s and tree.

What’s that now—

footsteps on the

rooftop?

Could it be a cat or a

mouse?

Who’s this down the

chimney?

A thief with a beard—

And a big sack for

robbin’ the house?

I’m barkin’, I’m

growlin’, I’m bitin’  his

butt.

He howls and jumps

back in his sleigh.

I scare his strange

horses, they leap in the

air.

I’ve frightened the

whole bunch away.

Now the house is all 

peaceful and quiet

again.

The stockin’s are safe

as can be.

Won’t the kiddies be

glad when they wake up

tomorrow

And see how I’ve

guarded the tree.

Explore posts in the same categories: dog humor, dogs, family, humor

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

6 Comments on “CHRISTMAS DOG”

  1. Gina Says:

    Adorable!

    Tuffy’s Mom, Gina

  2. 4urpets Says:

    Tuffy, Are you going to guard the tree this year?

  3. Rusty Says:

    Great poem! I want to be a good guard dog like the dog in your poem!

  4. Gina Says:

    Thanks for visiting my blog. I definitely forgot The Polar Express–one of my new favorites!

  5. Checkers Says:

    Hahaha! That’s what I would do if I wasn’t in my crate!

  6. Mercedes Says:

    Excellent: I absolutely love Shel Silverstein!

    Merry Christmas!

    p.s. Patch is doing so much better 🙂


Leave a Reply

