IT’S BREAKFAST TIME!

As soon as I wake up in the morning, even if it’s as early at 5:30 a.m., the dog’s breakfast rituals begin. First thing in the morning, I have to make my coffee so my eyes will open. It seems like the dogs already had their morning coffee because they are running around, playing with each other as happy as can be. IT’S BREAKFAST TIME! Woohoo!

As soon as I crawl into the kitchen, Tinky goes into her begging routine. She sits on her haunches with her paws up to her chest and gives me her “hungry look”. She has learned at an early age that this works! Jonesy runs around in circles and barks incessantly, and Sissy just sits there with all the patience in the world. I tell them, “Give me a break, you guys. I need my coffee!”

They say that Chihuahuas are not fussy eaters because they don’t have as many taste buds as other dogs. I didn’t make that up, I just read it somewhere. Well, whoever said that, didn’t know what they were talking about. My dogs refuse to eat their kibble unless their bowl contains frozen green beans. Yes, I said frozen green beans. They love them. I don’t give them very much, just enough to get their nose in the bowl.  Once their nose is in the bowl, they seem to want to eat. This morning I was out of frozen green beans, so I wondered if they would notice that I put frozen corn in their kibble. Nope, they didn’t notice, and they didn’t skip a beat. Whew!

As soon as their bowls are ready, Tinky jumps up and down, traveling backwards from the kitchen to the dining room. She looks like she is on a pogo stick. Boing boing boing! I have to feed Jonesy on the couch (there is a blanket to protect the couch). If Jonesy doesn’t get fed on the couch, it will take him about 1/2 hour to eat, and who has time? He will  take one piece of kibble, run to the couch, eat the one piece of kibble, and run back to the bowl…on and one. So…he’s neurotic.

Sissy can devour her food in one gulp, and is finished way before the other two. When she is finished, she patiently sits on her haunches and waits for one of them to leave their bowl. She sloooowly “sneaks” over to the bowl as if she was a cat stalking it’s prey, and cleans out what is left over in the other bowl. If I don’t watch Sissy, she will blow up like a balloon (read my blog “FAT DOG”).

It’s not fun at feeding time. I am not awake yet!

Explore posts in the same categories: animals, chihuahuas, dog humor, dogs, family, humor, Uncategorized

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

6 Comments on “IT’S BREAKFAST TIME!”

  1. puppymom Says:

    whew! and i thought breakfast time was hectic at our house… 🙂

  2. Irish chick Says:

    Your blog is so amazing! Mine is just started so it’d be awesome if you could check it out. It has stories about my dogs and puppy and some other stuff.
    Good job!
    http://themouselife.wordpress.com/

  3. 4urpets Says:

    Irish Chick:

    I have checked out your blog. I will be reading it from time to time. Thanks for the compliment.

  4. rusty Says:

    I agree with you three! WooHoo for breakfast! My mom usually whines around about her coffee too. Humans.

  5. Irish chick Says:

    I got a golden retriever puppy. She is adorable!

  6. packphour Says:

    Unrelated to this post. I just wanted to say thanks for linking to this Flickr set ( http://www.flickr.com/photos/standorsett/2011304526/in/set-1755197/ )

    LOVE that image.


Leave a Reply

