TOP 10 DOGS NAMES AND BREEDS

Today is a “slow news day” and I have writer’s block. So instead of trying to think of something cute to write about my dogs, I decided to write a little trivia about dogs. Here goes…..

The top 10 dogs’ names in the United States are:

Max, Buddy, Maggie, Molly, Jake, Bailey, Lucy, Daisy, Lucky and Sadie.

I didn’t make up this list! I think they should add the names Jonesy, Sissy or Tinky!

The top 10 Dog Breeds in the United States are:

Labrador Retriever, Golden Retriever, German Shepherd, Dachshund, Beagle, Poodle, Yorkshire Terrier, Chihuahua,  Boxer, and Shih Tsu.

Woohoo, the Chihuahua is number 8!  Can you guess I have Chihuahuas?

I have a co-worker that has a Beagel named Lucy! She hit the jackpot!

JACK RUSSELL TRIVIA

jack-russell.jpg

In 1819, Rev. John “Jack” Russell, a parson and hunting enthusiast, pursuaded a milkman to sell him a distinctive looking dog and which he named Trump. Russell later became Curate of Swimbridge near Barnstaple, Devon, UK, where he devoted himself to breeding a type of fox terrier with short legs and a short white, black, and tan coat. This dog had high stamina for the hunt as well as courage to chase out foxes that have gone to ground. These dogs are today knows in his honor as Jack Russell terriers.

Explore posts in the same categories: Chihuahua, dogs, Uncategorized

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

7 Comments on “TOP 10 DOGS NAMES AND BREEDS”

  1. jamesviscosi Says:

    So that’s where the Jack Russell name came from! I had wondered but never got around to looking it up.

  2. 4urpets Says:

    jamesviscosi,

    There, I did it for you. Now can you tell me a little bit about the type of dog that Dennis is?

  3. Raquel Says:

    I wonder if designer dogs will ever make the list. I have a Cockachon (cocker spaniel and Bishon) named Chai. 🙂

    Raquel,

    I have a list of different type dogs on my blog called “CROSSBREED DOGS”. 🙂

    4urpets

  4. Chris Miller Says:

    We have to wiener dogs named Lucy and Molly.


  5. Our little moocher is named Miss Sassy Belle Devereaux.

    She’s a real Southern dog.

    You can read about her and see her “adventures” at http://www.FibroFix.com/dog.html


  6. I have two chihuahuas. They are amazing dogs – very loving and needy !! I love that they are number 8 !


  7. I had, 30 yrs. ago, a black lab we named Kuba, after a Chinese friend. Must have been a ethnic no-no. We never heard from him again !!! But our dog was a sweet heart, he had a small white blaze on his chest. It took me 30 yrs. to get another Lab. Then here comes this wee black/with blaze!!! Lab. No way, but here he stayed since 2005. Oh yea, his name is Kuba.


Leave a Reply

