MICROCHIPS DO NOT CAUSE CANCER

Okay, now I have something else to drive me crazy! I recently read an article about microchips causing cancer. Since all my dogs are micro-chipped, that article was very disburbing. As soon as I read the article, I ran around the house, gathered up my dogs, and one by one, I thoroughly examined them to see if I could see any bulging,  discoloration, or anything that I thought looked like it might be cancer. 

After that ordeal was over, I did a little more research and found another article captioned Microchips Do Not Cause Cancer. Okay, what’s going on here? Do they, or don’t they? After I read the article, I let my common sense be my guide, after all, sometimes that’s all you have. Here’s what I found out.

Millions and millions of microchips have been implanted in cats and dogs. In recent tests, there were only four cases with a link to cancer. Those cases were tested in mice that were prone to cancer. Since thousands of pets are returned to their owners every month, I think that is a very small price to pay and it is well worth it.

Statistics show that the 4th of July is the number 1 day that pets are lost, and Halloween is the 2nd.

Call me an alarmist, but not only are my dogs micro-chipped, but each one wears a collar with: 1) a tag that says they are micro-chipped; 2) a tag with their name and my phone number on it; 3) their rabies tag; and 4) doggie jewelry.

Well, the jewelry doesn’t have anything to do with a lost dog, but it looks pretty on them, and anyone that would find my dog(s) would know that I really love them.

Explore posts in the same categories: animals, dogs

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “MICROCHIPS DO NOT CAUSE CANCER”

  1. paperbacks Says:

    haha, I like your comment about the jewelry. We don’t have microchips in our dog or cat, but maybe we should think about it. I was just reading about them and they’re not too expensive, right?

  2. 4urpets Says:

    Thanks for reading my blog.

    Since your pet should be asleep when they get their microchip, it is easier to get it done while they are getting spayed or neutered. It’s more cost effective that way also. The chips are not that expensive.

    4urpets


Leave a Reply

